Chile Crisp

Id like to take a minute and talk about condiments…or you can just make this!

What is your stance on condiments? I ask because I have a kid that hates them. Olive oil is the only thing he eats. And sparingly. Sauces “have a weird texture” and “dips are gross”. No BBQ, ketchup, jelly, or dressing for that kid. And I don’t get it. *says the lady who could eat miracle whip straight from the jar* No lie. Don’t judge me.

But seriously. I put something on everything. It’s usually a home made something, except of course the miracle whip, but something none the less. And this something is my current crush.

Chili crisp is spicy and garlicky, schmaltzy and crisp. And it is amazing on everything. I particularly love it on my breakfast salad, and broccoli. I have to keep it out of sight or the pint will dwindle in just a week or two.

It’s easy as pie, just a little time consuming. And unless you have a hook up for dried chile pods, I suppose it could get expensive to make on the regular. But I’m telling you, it’s worth it.

I love sesame oil. You could effectively replace the sesame with olive oil, or do a blend. Everything else is mostly necessary. The peanuts can be skipped, but i would love it if you tried it once with them in it. So good.

Aaaanyways, let’s make this!

Chile Crisp

Servings: lots | Prep time: 20 minutes | Hands off time: 24 hours

Tools:

  • Small, heavy skillet or sauce pan
  • 1 pint Mason jar
  • Sharp knife
  • Cutting board

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C chile flakes (crushed red pepper flakes)
  • 4 cloves garlic, sliced thin
  • 2 T Spanish peanuts, chopped
  • 1 T ginger, cleaned and sliced thin
  • 2-4 star anise
  • 1-2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 C sesame oil
  • 1 T salt

If you’re grinding your own chiles, get those done first.

Measure your dried chile flakes into the mason jar, put in the anise and cinnamon, and set aside on a small plate.

Slice your garlic and ginger and chop your peanuts. Put the ginger & garlic into the sauce pan, set the nuts aside.

Pour the oil over the garlic & ginger and set over low heat. When the aromatics start sizzling, add the peanuts & salt to the pot and let it bubble away. The peanuts make the oil foamy, don’t sweat it. It’s supposed to happen.

Once the garlic becomes golden, pour the entire pot over the chile flakes. I take a chop stick and just poke the jar, helping the hot oil make its way through everything. It should bubble and sizzle and threaten to overflow. That’s why you put the jar on a plate.

Let everything cool, pop a top on it, and leave it to sit for at least 24 hours to marry the flavors.

That’s it! This stuff is, for real, the cats a$$. You’re going to want to put it on every little thing. Maybe even eat the crisp with a spoon. Or maybe that’s just me. But still. It’s that good.

Please let me know if you’ve tried it! And love it! And share it with your friends!

Eat well and be well, my friends!
xo ~ c

Leave a comment